Introductory Email

To: Brad Blackstone
From: Teow Gerald
Date: 24 January 2018
Subject: Self-Introduction

Dear Brad,

My name is Gerald, a second year undergraduate in Singapore Institute of Technology, undertaking a Bachelor in Hospitality Business. I graduated from Nanyang Polytechnic with a Diploma in Hospitality and Tourism Management, specializing in the events track.

I went to Pico Art International, an event management company during my polytechnic internship. Through that, I was exposed to the MICE industry and discovered my passion for it. In fact, I liked it so much that I extended my stint there and stayed for another two months. Despite the odd working hours and tedious workload, I love the sense of fulfillment it gives me. I also like how the job gives me the opportunity to interact with people from all walks of life, which broadens my perspective in life.

I have improved my communication skills through interacting with various people from different departments such as managers, contractors and suppliers. With that, I am now able to start conversations with people with ease. I also recognized the need to learn professional communication skill as a lifelong skill.

Sometimes when presenting to a big group, I get nervous especially if I feel some people in the group being distracted, as it feels to me as though I am not presenting well enough. In that sense, I need to have more self-confidence and practice to overcome this aspect. Under your guidance, I hope to be able to achieve this at the end of this course.

Thank you.

Best Regards,

Gerald

*Edited on 30 Jan 2018, 2.15pm.

Commented on:

Ian

Venus See

Samuel Koh (External)

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Introductory Email

Add yours

  1. Dear Gerald,

    Great to know and hear about your passion for the events industry! The industry is definitely a very labor and time intensive one and it takes someone of great patience, passion and positivity to do what you do. Likewise, one of the motivating factor for me would be the opportunity to interact with people from different walks of life. It definitely broadens the perspective on life as well as to provide the “interesting” element in our jobs.

    Nervousness while presenting to a large group and feeling that we’ve not presented well enough is a normal reaction to have. Another perspective that we can look at it is that it is actually us wanting to do better and improve ourselves! However, we also got to stay humble and accept feedback from others when they do let us know what are the areas we need to improve on!

    All the best for your future endeavors and I hope you’ll be able to achieve your goals in class!!

    Warmest regards,
    Ian

    Like

  2. Dear Gerald,

    Thank you for submitting this introductory letter promptly. You have covered all the areas required for the assignment. I particularly appreciate you sharing information about your internship and explaining how that stint bolstered your interest in MICE and your ability to communicate professionally.

    In an effort to further develop your skills, there are a few areas in this letter that you need to review:

    1) sentence structure
    — Through that, I was exposed to the MICE industry and discovered my passion for it that I extended my stint there and stayed for another two months. >>> ?

    2) verb tense inconsistency
    — Despite the odd working hours and tedious workload, I loved the sense of fulfillment it gives me. I also like how the job gives me the opportunity to interact with people from all walks of life, which broadens my perspective in life. >>> past or present? or both?

    3) lack of transitional devices across paragraphs that would aid cohesion

    Thanks once again for the hard work. I look forward to reading more of your writing this term.

    Best wishes,

    Brad

    Like

  3. Dear Gerald,

    I admire your passion to work in the MICE sector despite the relentless working hours and workload. It’s great that you have a mature perspective on of the entire experience.

    Hopefully, you will gain more confidence in presenting to a group over the course of the module. I am sure you are capable of doing so. Believe in yourself!

    Let’s work together to become better effective communicators.

    Best regards,
    Shafique Saat

    Like

  4. Good Afternoon Gerald!

    Your blog post was very interesting and informative. I gained a better understanding of you as a person. I was very impressed with your job experiences at Pico and i could relate to it as i also crave for opportunities.

    As for your weakness, i feel that it happens with most of the people. We have to continue to learn and practice so as to overcome the challenges. Hope to engage with you in CPD class and strive to achieve more in the future

    With Love,
    Samuel

    Like

  5. Hi Gerald,

    Your passion for the MICE sector is admirable. With your positive attitude, you will definitely go far in this industry!

    I have the same issue of getting all nervous before presenting in front of a large crowd. So, let us work together in this module to overcome that fear.

    Regards,
    Ho Pei Qi

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑